Poems like this make me feel like getting old… :)

I remember the cheese of my childhood
And the bread that we cut with a knife,
When the children helped with the housework,
And the men went to work not the wife.
The cheese never needed a fridge,
And the bread was so crusty and hot,
The children were seldom unhappy
And the wife was content with her lot.
I remember the milk from the bottle,
With the yummy cream on the top,
Our dinner came hot from the oven,
And not from the fridge or the shop.
The kids were a lot more contented,
They didn’t need money for kicks,
Just a game with their mates on the road,
And sometimes the Saturday flicks.
I remember the shop on the corner,
Where a penny’s worth of sweets was sold
Do you think I’m a bit too nostalgic?
Or is it … I’m just getting old?
I remember the ‘loo’ was the lav,
And the bogey man came in the night,
It wasn’t the least bit funny
Going ‘out back’ with no light.
The interesting items we perused,
From the newspapers cut into squares,
And hung on a peg in the loo,
It took little to keep us amused.
The clothes were boiled in the copper,
With plenty of rich foamy suds
But the ironing seemed never ending
As Mum pressed everyone’s ‘duds’.
I remember the slap on my backside,
And the taste of soap if I swore
Anorexia and diets weren’t heard of
And we hadn’t much choice what we wore.
Do you think that bruised our ego?
Or our initiative was destroyed?
We ate what was put on the table
And I think life was better enjoyed.

[received as mail]

(….old times are always great to recall. In most ways, those were actually great. Like when Baano Aapa writes in Haasil Ghaat, “Mujhay khushi hai kay mein ne aik aisay muhallay mein parwarish paayi, jahaan sub log aik doosray ko jaantay thay…”)

2 thoughts on “Poems like this make me feel like getting old… :)

  1. Your poem’s narrative is a popular notion …..”.yesterday was better …………………..”every generation thinks like this about hers , like Linta N thinks her childhood was the best time when children used to play with real toys …….( not with digital ones) …and cartoon programs on tv were actually hand made picture movies🐁🐑🐱🐦🐔…….now you see cartoons …….?👾👹 ,your toddler is on the mercy of ,……my God , they are horrible faces of some so-called space creatures , some new cyber breeds of animals , then computer graphics……no real beary bear , no frolicsome rabbit or mary’s lamb is there any more………no innocence ! ……but with me things are so interesting………I try to love and enjoy every new style ……I like my children’s childhood better than my own …….education system far better than mine …….my kitchen is eight times good than the one i used to be in……and everyday I feel the era I spent in Pakistan was not better than today……….when I meet other desi’s , I find them complaining about generation gap….., clash of culture , mass mind ….to some extend which is true……but if we live in past and deny every good in present , we wont be able to live the life….infact we would be just dragged by the days and nights…..thats why I feel …atleast here…I’m not wrong ……….I like every present day.💐….it allows me to enjoy it more , have good imprints on my physical health……I dont feel left behind ,while sitting in a group of youngsters…….and also , I am all the time a humble and thankful person ……..Alhamdolillah….I think a negative approach in thinking (o….this time is aweful , ….sa’ada vela changa si….)wont leave a gratitude in our hearts as well , enen towards Allah , and His blessings……..about the narration of the poem ….simply beautiful !

    Like

  2. Munnu Bhai wrote a long time ago : Oh vela vi keh vela si
    Pukh’ lagdi si , mang lende saan
    labh’ janda si , kha lende saan
    naeen labhda si , ro lende saan
    rondiaan rondiaan saun jande saan.

    eh vela vi kih vela eh
    pukh’ lagdi eh , mang naeen sakde
    labhda eh , par kha naeen sakde
    na’ labhe te ro naeen sakde
    royan bahjon saun naeen sakde !

    Like

Leave a Reply

