Some answers need better questions.. :)

This was 2011. I was serving as a Selector. While selection for an Army Course was in progress, I came across this too young, too simple and too childish gentleman from rural background into my group.

While he was being assessed into various situations and tests, I closely watched for required potentials and talents, however found none. At one stage of testing, I threw a futuristic (challenge) question:

“What will you do if you are unfortunately not selected for commission into Pakistan Army?”

Carefree and complacent that he was, his answer was a classic:

“Sir! please be informed that if I don’t get selected into Pakistan Army, I don’t lose anything. It is the Pakistan Army which would lose a future Chief of Army Staff….!”

(For quite a number of subsequent selection batches, I re-thought, re-framed and re-phrased the question.)

Leave a Reply

