Men are what their mothers make them…

“Mama, what’s “vacation” mean?”

“Vacation?”

“Where Daddy went.”

“Vacation’s when you go somewhere and you don’t ever come back.”

* * *

” What’s the matter, Mama?”

“I’m dying, Forrest. Come on in, sit down over here.”

“Why are you dying, Mama?”

” It’s my time. It’s just my time.”

“Now, don’t you be afraid, sweetheart. Death is just a part of life, something we’re all destined to do. I didn’t know it, but I was destined to be your mama. I did the best I could.”

“You did good, Mama.!

“Well, I happen to believe you make your own destiny. You have to do the best with what God gave you.”

“What’s my destiny, Mama?”

“You’re going to have to figure that out for yourself. Life is a box of chocolates, Forrest. You never know what you’re going to get.”

Mama always had a way of explaining things so I could understand them.

 

[dialogues from “Forrest Gump” – starring Tom Hanks]

Leave a Reply

