Qasam uss waqt ki…

16 May 2013. Matani. 9:45 pm PST.

You were on duty…..to protect us……to make us happy…..to let us breathe in free air……

I was on leisure……with my family…..not concerned about what was coming…..

You were away from home…….had not seen your mothers for so many weeks….

I was coming straight from home…….with the blessings of my mother….

You were driving your life’s last journey…..

I was driving my life’s adorable journey…..

You fought till your last………you were an example…

I could not save you……….I have no excuse……

You were unknown fighters……..you had it coming to you…….your name was written on the ammo….rockets and bullets…..

I didn’t give myself a word of caution when I saw heavy fire overhead…..(today I say my name was not on it..!!)……My wife showed me the rocket fire……Well I had thought it was routine Matani…….but it was different……..it was you wearing green camouflage, which had turned red….totally red.

You died the day…..to live on….forever…..

I die each time I pass by the place……..each time I live……each day…

Well, you and your colleagues gave their life and blood, and with the blessings of Allah, we could fight the miscreants…..we laid so many bodies and souls into the ground………..and did not bury thousands of your dead loved ones, to mourn you for life………..they use to say, let us be killed too…

….. Well I am only sorry……see, so many of the wise of my nation routinely question the viscosity of your blood, the purity of your intent and the tangibility of your “posthumous benefits”….I am also sorry, because I  cannot say, “let me be killed too…”….  I am too selfish, per se….

Your sacrifice will always be remembered…… Every 23 Mar, 30 Apr, 14 Aug, 6 Sep, 25 Dec……every Eid and Muharram…..your graves will be rose-laden…….your names will be shined up in units, regimental centers and headquarters……..your comrades will remember you with guards-and-fires-of-honour…..

However,

Our world will not be same without you all….

Long live those who gave their every-thing, every-moment and every-breath………for our some-things……some-moments…..and some-breaths……..

 aye puttar hattan ty neen wikday
tuun labhni aein vich bazaar kurray

aye souda naqad vi naeen milda…
tuun labhdi phirein udhaar kurray

 

[written in the memory of two slain soldiers of Pakistan Army, when their convoy came under attack in Sarra Khora, Matani, KPK……… May God rest their souls. Aameen.]

2 thoughts on “Qasam uss waqt ki…

Leave a Reply

