Dazzling dialogues – From “The Holiday”…

“And then there’s another kind of love. The cruelest kind.
The one that almost kills its victims.
It’s called unrequited love.
Of that, I am an expert…”

* * *

“Most love stories are about people who fall in love with each other.
But what about the rest of us? What about our stories?
Those of us who fall in love alone.
We are the victims of the one-sided affair.
We are the cursed of the loved ones. We are the unloved ones.
The walking wounded. The handicapped without the advantage of a great parking space.”

* * *

“I need to get out of town.
You know? I think I need some peace and quiet…..
…..or whatever it is people go away for.
You know what I really wanna do?
I wanna eat carbs without wanting to kill myself.
I wanna read a book.
Not just a magazine. An actual book.”

* * *

“Iris, in the movies,
we have leading ladies…
…and we have the best friend.
You, I can tell, are a leading lady.
But for some reason, you’re behaving like the best friend.”

[The Holiday – 2006]

2 thoughts on “Dazzling dialogues – From “The Holiday”…

  1. This post has four segments. Beautiful ! And…….You are announced that….You are awarded best for the first two ! Hay Officer, you are always awesome, but some moments you are soooper goooorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

