Friend’sMailz – Of the cities….

Karachi is my first love…. (and Northern Pakistan, both my heaven and haven)..

I happened to enter this wonderful city in 1996 for the first time…. We used to say, “jinnhein Lhor naeen vekhiya, oh jammiya ee naeen….” (“See Lahore to see life, to open your eyes, to be born….”) ….. Deep-rooted Punjaabis that we were, we used to own this statement… Well, I saw Karachi and found myself… 🙂

Every place and person that I had the fortunate opportunity to relate to, was an inspiration. This side (Karachi-ites call it a collective term: ‘Punjab’) sure is a world of traditions, relations, values and longings….. Karachi gave me a feeling to sum it up all. I found it a city of life, hope, activity, balance, happiness and energy…. (as regards their comparison with Lahorites, I must stick to your viewpoint… 😛 ……. And no I’d better be silent…. 😀 ….)

Places…. Hmmmmm… So many, so many that I can not recall now……. For the love of taste and fun and picnic, let me recall some of the best…….
Do Darya (esp Kolachi)….. Boating Basin (so many points)… Khadda Market… Saba Commercial.. Jami Commercial…. Touheed Commercial…. Bahadurabad…. Dhora Ji / Sindhi Muslim…. Tariq Road…. Super Highhway (till Hyderabad, and then, the famous Bombay Bakers’ cake of Hyderabad)…. Arena… Carlton and Area 51 (used to be great at one time)….. DHA Creek Club… DHA Sunset Club…. DHA Marina Club….. Sea View…. NORE….. Muhammad Ali Society…… Karsaz…. PAF Museum…. Maritime Museum….. Malir Cantt…. Zamzama….. Schon Circle…. University Road….. Dream World Resort…. Old Airport (now Hajj Terminal) Canteen…. New Airport…. Hyper Star…. Atrium…. Liaqat Village Beach…. Manora, esp the light house besides Pakistan Naval Academy……. Sandspit…… Nathiyagali Beach…. And the legendry Sunday Bazaar of DHA (which I’ve heard, is now closed)……. Well, there are so many places…

Two tenures full of accomplishments, fun and remembrances… God bless the place with peace and harmony, something which is improving by the day, and will even better in years to come inshaAllah.

Yes, many FM members live there too…. This would have been an excellent idea, especially when we have had gatherings back in days of MsnPakistan…..at Karachi and Lahore….. Well, people now a days are “emoticon-ically” social… They better send across smilies…. 🙂 ….. World is becoming a smart-work. The other day I asked a candidate about what is a ‘simile’ (he was studying in BS English programme at a reputed university), he replied, “It is in Whatsapp and FB and in almost every online key-board..”… Lololz..

Its been ages that I posted or checked FM… Probably, my account also has been ceased… The FS (which Amir and team) made as the next step was a rainbow again… However, it also does not shine on the web now… Time has made everyone busy and its a fact that carrying on with such an arrangement in our routine lives is a challenge…

Well, whenever you are here next time, ask me of the places / recommendations again, and I’d double the list… 🙂 ….. Have in the mean time, explored some more, really good travel destinations in Punjab and in KP and at Karachi… If you ask of hospitality, I’d suggest you go to rural Punjaab / KPK, and especially Hunza, Skardu and beyond….. I have experienced big hearts in small settlements across whole Northern Pakistan…. May be coz they are not that much of “taiz”, as you put it…
Seems, “taiziyaan” is opposite to relationships.

Stay blessed….

2 thoughts on “Friend’sMailz – Of the cities….

  1. I have started dreaming of a nice trip right now and right away. Now……. I don’t have any emoticons to show you how big I am smiling and how mazedaar is your idea. Stay tuned about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

